Tags

, , , , ,


Healthy brownies? Sounds like an oxymoron, right?

SONY DSC

But these brownies really are! The secret? Don’t freak out… Black Beans! I know I know it doesn’t sound really appealing, Im with you, I was scared of making this too, but I’ve been seeing them all over the internet, Instagram, Pinterest, Blogs, so I decided to give them a try, and see for myself that they indeed don’t taste like beans at all!

I’m a sweet tooth girl all the way, and I’m not proud let me tell you that. It’s very hard for me not to eat something sweet apart from fruit during the day, and I’m addicted to chocolate and absolutely love brownies, so I needed my healthy fix don’t you agree? And of course that this benefits my family too and most of all my son Luca, who loves brownies so much.

There is no flour no butter, no milk, and the good news is that they’re Gluten Free!

I took this recipe from “Mennonite Girls Can Cook” because I had all the ingredients in my pantry, but I intend to do them next time without eggs, so I will search for a new recipe and let you know how that turns out.

Anyways, I always end up talking a lot, and I’m sure you are here to see the recipe, so here it is:

PS: I substituted the honey for brown sugar, and of course added dark chocolate chunks (so I wouldnt feel so guilty) and voilà !

Recipe:
2 cups black beans, drained and rinsed well (You can buy the can, but I prefer to cook them)
3 eggs
1/3 cup of coconut oil*
1/2 cup honey (I used brown sugar)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup, sifted cocoa (I didn’t sift the cocoa)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda (I didn’t have baking soda so I skipped this ingredient and they turned out well)

Place all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until it is all liquid with no lumps.
Pour into the cake pan.
Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
Remove from pan, and cool completely.
Cover and refrigerate over night. In my opinion this tastes best cold straight out of the fridge.
Serve with whip cream or ice cream if desired.
This cake is suitable for gluten-free, lactose intolerant diets.

Enjoy this Guilt-free Brownies!

XXX
R