Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


SONY DSC
Ok so this is my second post of a recipe on the blog, I don’t know how weird it must be for you the combination of posts, mixing style with (healthy) food, but since I did warn you on my first blog post that this was going to be a blog with a bit of everything that I like (food included, obviously!) , I don’t feel guilty, and why should I ? These are delicious, healthy, quick and easy recipes which I know all of you ladies who take care of yourselves will love.
I just feel the need to share a lot of the stuff that I love, because not to brag or anything but I trust my taste that much to guarantee that everything I’ll post is going to be useful, helpful and most of all, that you are going to like and maybe even love.
I don’t like to give explanations, but I just gave you one because I know It can be weird to see a post with a style topic one day and a recipe the other. But the point of this blog is to help you and guide you to have an easier lifestyle. Yes,  I’m here to HELP YOU! ( I sound like a commercial :P) Help you with style and fashion questions you may have, give you the insight on my favorite books, healthy  food, beauty products, music, and anything that I swear by.
I like to read a lot, but many times one book has nothing to do with the other, but it doesn’t matter, I still learn new things, things that I’d like to share with you guys, because I know I sure like it when someone (I trust)  recommends me something, it’s a safe bet ( I know I have to earn your trust,  I hope to get there little by little)
I’m a little intense when I find something that I like, my friends and family always make fun of me because I just start talking about it, almost like someone is paying me to convince them or I’m being sponsored by whatever it is I’m talking about. But at the same time they trust me whenever I give them advice on something, because I’m a picky lady (I hate to say it out loud because it sounds like I’m proud or even bragin ) but let’s put it this way I either  LOVE something, or don’t, there isn’t a middle ground. And this blog is all about the things that I love and hopefully the people who read my blog (whom I assume have common interests with me) will love too.
So how did this post that was supossed to be of food ended up being about my personality? Sorry I know many of you don’t care and are just here for the recipe, so I’ll just shut up right now and give you the recipe!
(Sorry!)
Ps: I made this recipe based on the blog “Averie Cooks”  adding and removing ingredients that I didn’t have on hand, or don’t like that much, but all in all is very close to the original recipe.

The best part is that these granola bites are no-bake, vegan and gluten free!

The best part of the recipe is that you don’t have to bake, they’re vegan, and gluten-free ! These balls / bites are the perfect snack between meals, after a workout and if you’re on the go. This is a recipe everyone will love.  Your significant other, your kids, friends, etc. PLUS you get a better product without all those nasty ingredients and a lot cheaper.

Now the recipe!

Vegan Peanut Butter Granola Bites

Ingredients
1 Ripe Banana (mashed)
1.5 c Oats
1/2 c Shredded Coconut (I used unsweetened)
1/2 c Date chunks and dried figs (But any dried fruit will work)
1/2 c Honey (You can use agave nectar, coconut nectar, depending on what you like and have on hand)
1/2 c Peanut Butter (or any nut butter, i.e. almond, pecan, cashew, etc.)

The Following Ingredients are Optional but I used them all:
1/3 Amaranth ( I added this for extra energy and because I love the flavor)
2 Tbsp Flax Seeds
2 Tbsp Chia Seeds
1.5 Tsp Cinnamon
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

Screen shot 2013-08-08 at 8.03.11 PM
First mash the banana
SONY DSC
Then add the oats, amaranth, coconut..
SONY DSC
Chia Seeds, Flax seeds..
SONY DSC
Cut the dried figs and dates in little chunks and add to the mixture
SONY DSC
Now the peanut butter this will be part of the “glue” and will help the mixture to start coming together
SONY DSC
Add cinammon
SONY DSC
Then honey..
SONY DSC
Now roll the “dough” in little balls
SONY DSC
After I rolled the balls I put them in the fridge for about an hour or so, and in a separate plate mixed brown sugar with pink himalayan salt and rolled the balls to give them that extra flavor of sweet and salty But you can omit this step if you’re not in to it.

Yields: Approximately 20 medium size balls.
Note: Store in the freezer.They soften up quickly at room temp, and will keep for a month or more in the freezer.

Enjoy this healthy and delicious snack!
XXX
R