Tags

, , , , , ,


granada rice
Hello lovely people! how was your weekend?  It goes by so fast right?  I had a beautiful time with my family and wanted to share with all of you what we had for breakfast today.

I made dinner on saturday and cooked brown rice and I had leftovers, I’m so used to having rice just for lunch or dinner that I never ever make it for breakfast, and as I looked into my fridge this morning, I saw the fresh coconut meat I bought on saturday, and while talking a walk on friday I found near my house a beautiful pomegranate tree, so I had pomegranate too. I took it from there and started taking things out of the fridge and well the rest is history. It was so good  and so healthy too!!!! we all had a big bowl for breakfast and I’m thinking of having exactly the same for dinner ( right after I finish writing this post ha!) I hope you enjoy this recipe which is a great alternative for oatmeal, you can use quinoa too. Let me know how it goes and if you have any recommendations.
granada tree
(This Pomegranate is form the tree I found near my house, so perfect!)

Recipe:
(Serves Two)
1 cup brown rice
1/2 TBS stevia
2 cups almond milk (sweetened or unsweetened whatever you like better)
1 pomegranate
1 coconut
2 TBS chia seeds
You can add 1/3 cup of your favorite granola to add some extra crunch and flavor, both versions are good, but I liked it better with the granola
photo
Directions:
Cook 1 cup of brown rice with water.
Serve 1/2 cup of the cooked brown rice and add 1 cup of almond milk with 1Tbs of Stevia.
Cut the coconut and serve on top with half of the pomegranate and one tablespoon of chia seeds.
Add the Granola (optional)
And it’s ready! Let me tell you that my 5-year-old son loved this so much he wanted more and more, I had to stop him at some point haha I’m not kidding! The creaminess of the rice with the almond milk and the coconut chunks mixed with the juicy and sweet pomegranate, and the contrast of these two colors (the coconut and the pomegranate) is beautiful and very appealing. And as I said before, for some extra texture add your favorite granola to the recipe and you’re good to go!!!
PS:You can make this recipe hot or cold.

Benefits:

The pomegranate is great for memory retention and is full of antioxidants. The coconut is rich in fiber and fiber can help you feel full, which is important if you are trying to eat less.

granada mercado hidalgo
(These picture was taken on a very famous market in Tijuana called “Mercado Hidalgo” where they have a great variety of fruit and vegetables as well as piñatas and mexican stuff. It’s beautiful!)

What do you usually have for breakfast?

XXX

R