Tags

, ,


Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hello! Today I want to share with you this new recipe that I’ve made and that I’m currently obsessed with basil ice cream.
Im obsessed with the smell of basil, its so fresh and unique, It takes any recipe or dish to a new level, the peppery and minty flavor combined with the creamy texture, it’s just perfect.
Here is the recipe, I hope you like it.  My family looooved it!!!!!! and I had a wonderful experience making this ice cream because I felt so good that there was no place around where they sell basil ice cream, and the fact that I could make it on my own was very satisfying.
Of course now I want to make all kinds of flavors. The fun part (for me) about making ice cream is that most combinations and flavors are one’s I’ve never tried before, and that makes it more interesting at the same time. I will let you know how they go.
Here’s the recipe:
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
2 1/2 cups whole milk
30 large basil leaves
3/4 cup fine sugar
5 egg yolks
1 1/4 cup (10 fl. oz.) heavy cream

Heat milk just to boil, turn off heat and add basil leaves. Let infuse for about 1 hour or you can place it in the fridge and let it infuse overnight.
Beat sugar and yolks together until pale and fluffy. Strain milk, pressing the basil to extract all the flavor. Stir into egg and sugar mixture. Make a makeshift bain-marie by putting your bowl on top of a saucepan of simmering water. Stir constantly until it thickens to the point where the mixture coats the back of a wooden spoon; then run your finger over the spoon and make sure that it leaves a path. Pour into another bowl and let cool in the refrigerator. Once cooled properly, stir in cream. Add to your ice cream maker and freeze.
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Here’s a list of the ice creams flavors I want to make:
1- Rose Petal and Cardamom Ice Cream
2-Honey goat cheese Ice Cream
3-Fig Ice Cream
4-Date Ice Cream
5-Cardamom and Saffron Ice Cream
6-Cannoli Ice Cream
7-Fresh Ricotta Ice Cream 
8- Honey Ricotta Ice Cream
9-Chocolate Lavender Ice Cream
10-White Chocolate Chai Ice Cream
11-Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream
12-Pistachio & Rose Water Ice Cream
13-Dark Chocolate Chip Orange Olive Oil Ice Cream
14-Roasted Strawberry and Mascarpone Ice Cream
15-Fig and Balsamic Ice Cream
16-Fresh Fig Ice Cream

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?

R