Tags

, , , ,


dulce de leche and bacon ice cream
Hello there! This post is all about my new obsession. ICE CREAM!!! I’ve always always loved ice cream, that special and unique texture it has; Cold and creamy, different flavors, different toppings, endless possibilities… but I have never actually made Ice Cream, and ever since I got my hands on an Ice Cream Maker I’ve been trying one recipe after the other. And the best thing of all is that I’ve been making flavors I’ve never tasted before and that I was always curious about. The thing  here is that there aren’t any good ice cream shops near where I live, so I had to make them my own, and I have enjoyed it so much.
I’ve been pinning Ice Cream Recipes like crazy on my Pinterest, and I want to make them all.
So for starters here’s my second Ice Cream Recipe, remember the first one was “Basil Ice Cream” now here is my second recipe “Dulce de Leche With Bacon Ice Cream” To many people these combination may sound weird, but not to me! I love experimenting with new combinations and flavors, and have always been a fan of “Sweet and Salty” food, and this ice cream brings that perfect balance between the creaminess and sweetness of the ice cream, with the saltness and crunch of the bacon. I hope you try this recipe, I bet you’re going to LOVE it!!!!!

Here’s the Recipe:
Dulce de Leche 13 ounce Can
Heavy cream, 1¾ cups
Whole milk, ¾ cup
Kosher salt, a pinch
Ice
Large egg yolks, 5

1. In a medium saucepan set over medium-high heat, bring to a simmer the: Heavy cream, Whole milk, Pinch of Kosher salt. Remove the saucepan from the heat.
2. Fill a large bowl half-full with Ice

3. In a heat-safe medium bowl, whisk the large egg yolks
While whisking, slowly drizzle in the warm cream mixture, being careful not to add it too quickly (this could cause the eggs to curdle). Return the egg-and-cream mixture to the saucepan and set over low heat. Using a wooden spoon, stir constantly until the custard begins to thicken, 10 to 12 minutes. Continue to stir until the custard is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon, about 3 minutes longer (when you drag your finger across the back of the spoon, it should leave a line that doesn’t fill in.

4. Place the bowl with the custard into the ice-water bath. Stir occasionally until the custard is cooled. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 2 hours (or overnight).
5. Pour the chilled custard into an ice cream maker and follow the manufacturer’s instructions to churn the custard into a soft-serve ice cream consistency. Once it reaches soft-serve consistency, add a few heaping spoonfuls (about 3/4 of the can) of the chilled dulce de leche. Churn until the dulce de leche is swirled into the ice cream base. Turn off the ice cream maker and transfer the ice cream to an airtight container and add about two spoons of dulce de leche and swirled. Cover and freeze until firm, 2 to 3 hours. Serve with bacon your favorite bacon on top.
bbj

Enjoy!

R